Cookies:

This website intends to use cookies to improve the site and your experience. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to accept our use of cookies . If you require further information and/or do not wish to have cookies placed when using the site, you can modify your browser settings appropriately, or you may visit our internet privacy page .

The International Standard of Care Committee for SMA was formed in 2005 with the goal of establishing guidelines for clinical care.

In 2007, they published the Consensus Statement for Standard of Care in Spinal Muscular Atrophy, addressing common medical problems, diagnostic strategy, recommendations for assessment and monitoring, and therapeutic intervention in each care area. An updated standard of care document reflecting advances in the treatment of spinal muscular atrophy is currently in development.2

The current guidelines recommend that a wide-ranging team of medical experts be assembled as soon as possible to meet with the family. A care plan should include referrals to the medical experts who will direct care for the child. Often the first referral will be to a paediatric neurologist.2

The level of care may range from proactive to palliative

PROACTIVE CARE

Refers to procedures that address both acute problems and the day-to-day management of a child’s medical needs, including but not limited to:2

  • Airway clearance, cough, and secretion management
  • Ventilator support (invasive or noninvasive)
  • Nutrition and hydration

PALLIATIVE CARE

Focuses on prevention and relief of suffering to support the best possible quality of life. This may include:3,4

  • Managing discomfort and preventing unnecessary interventions
  • Potentially life-sustaining measures with regard to the individual and his or her family
  • Psychosocial and spiritual support to the individual and/or his or her family
Spinal Muscular Atrophy Palliative Care

The purpose of palliative care is to improve the quality of life for individuals with life-threatening illnesses, though this does not mean that they are near death. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), palliative care in children is best accomplished by a multidisciplinary team that includes the family.4

SMA centres

Some neuromuscular disease centres specialising in SMA may provide families with proactive and coordinated care, including:5

Spinal Muscular Atrophy Treatment Appointment

Centralised appointments that enable families to see all necessary specialists in a single visit

Spinal Muscular Atrophy Treatment Travel

Assistance for families that need to travel significant distances (parking, meals, lodging, etc.)

SMA Symptoms

Collaboration and sharing of information among physicians that allows more strategic, coordinated care planning

Spinal Muscular Atrophy Treatment Centers

Locations of treatment centres can vary. While some families may be fortunate to live near one, those who don’t may choose to receive regular care at a medical centre that is closer to home. Some families may also choose to build their own care team with specialists in their community.

Fichiers témoins :

Nous utilisons des fichiers témoins pour améliorer ce site Web et votre expérience. En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez notre utilisation de fichiers témoins . Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements ou si vous ne souhaitez pas que des fichiers témoins soient installés pendant que vous utilisez ce site, vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur en conséquence ou vous pouvez visiter notre page sur la confidentialité en ligne .

Le Comité des normes internationales de soins pour l’AS a été formé en 2005 dans le but d’établir des lignes directrices pour les soins cliniques.

En 2007, ses membres ont publié la Déclaration de consensus concernant les traitements recommandés pour l’amyotrophie spinale (Consensus Statement for Standard of Care in Spinal Muscular Atrophy), qui aborde les problèmes médicaux courants, la stratégie diagnostique, les recommandations pour les évaluations et le suivi, ainsi que les interventions thérapeutiques dans chaque secteur de soins. Une mise à jour des traitements recommandés reflétant les progrès réalisés dans les traitements de l’amyotrophie spinale est en cours d’élaboration.2

Les lignes directrices actuelles recommandent qu’une équipe d’experts médicaux aux compétences variées soit réunie dès que possible pour rencontrer la famille. Tout programme de soins devrait comprendre l’aiguillage vers des experts médicaux qui dirigeront les soins pour l’enfant. Souvent, le premier spécialiste qui est recommandé est un neuropédiatre.2

Le niveau des soins peut aller des soins proactifs aux soins palliatifs

SOINS PROACTIFS

Fait référence aux interventions qui concernent à la fois les problèmes aigus et la prise en charge au quotidien des besoins médicaux d’un enfant, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter :2

  • Dégagement des voies respiratoires, gestion de la toux et des sécrétions
  • Assistance par respirateur (effractive ou non effractive)
  • Nutrition et hydratation

SOINS PALLIATIFS

Portent sur la prévention et le soulagement de la souffrance pour favoriser la meilleure qualité de vie possible. Ceux-ci peuvent comprendre :3,4

  • Prise en charge de l’inconfort et évitement d’interventions non nécessaires
  • Mesures potentiellement vitales concernant le patient et sa famille
  • Soutien psychosocial et spirituel pour le patient et sa famille
Amyotrophie spinale - Soins palliatifs

L’objectif des soins palliatifs est d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de maladies potentiellement mortelles, sans que ces personnes soient nécessairement en fin de vie. Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), une équipe pluridisciplinaire qui comprend la famille permet d’offrir les meilleurs soins palliatifs aux enfants.4

Centres pour l’AS

Les centres pour maladies neuromusculaires spécialisés en AS peuvent fournir aux familles des soins préventifs et coordonnés, notamment :5

Amyotrophie spinale - Rendez-vous pour le traitement

Des rendez-vous centralisés qui permettent aux familles de rencontrer l’ensemble des spécialistes nécessaires en une seule visite

Amyotrophie spinale – Déplacements pour le traitement

Une assistance pour les familles qui doivent effectuer de longs voyages (stationnement, repas, hébergement, etc.)

Symptômes de l’AS

La collaboration et le partage de renseignements entre les médecins, qui permet une planification des soins plus coordonnée et stratégique

Amyotrophie spinale - Centres de traitement

Les lieux hébergeant les centres de traitement peuvent varier. Alors que certaines familles ont la chance d’habiter près de l’un de ces centres, celles pour lesquelles ce n’est pas le cas peuvent choisir de recevoir des soins réguliers dans un centre médical plus près de leur domicile. Certaines familles peuvent également choisir de constituer leur propre équipe soignante avec des spécialistes locaux.