Cookies:

This website intends to use cookies to improve the site and your experience. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to accept our use of cookies . If you require further information and/or do not wish to have cookies placed when using the site, you can modify your browser settings appropriately, or you may visit our internet privacy page .

There are many aspects to care and the decisions parents need to make are difficult, as every child will experience symptoms differently. The level of care provided must be decided by the parents and the child’s physicians, and can change depending on circumstances and the goal of the supportive care. Be sure to contact your physician if you have questions about appropriate care options.1

Respiratory

Respiratory care is a central focus in spinal muscular atrophy. Muscle weakness in the chest can interfere with the ability to breathe or cough effectively and increases the risk of an infection. Respiratory care options can involve noninvasive or invasive techniques.2

Noninvasive respiratory care involves techniques that avoid or delay the use of invasive intervention. Special equipment such as a ventilator or bilevel positive airway pressure (BiPAP) machine can deliver a continuous flow of air to the lungs through a mask that covers the mouth and/or nose. A cough assist device may also be used at home to help children cough and clear secretions.1,3

Invasive respiratory care provides a secure airway to the lungs via an endotracheal tube that goes through the mouth (intubation) or directly into the trachea through a small incision in the neck (tracheotomy).4

Nutrition

Muscle weakness may cause children with spinal muscular atrophy to lose their ability to chew and swallow effectively. This puts them at risk of inhaling food and liquid into the lungs and developing respiratory infections. Parents may choose to have a temporary or long-term feeding tube put into place with the goal of providing the child with the necessary nutrition and hydration.5

In general, there are 2 types of feeding tubes: nasal and abdominal.

Nasogastric (NG) tubes enter the nose and feed directly into the stomach. These are typically used for children who need feeding tubes for only a short period of time and can be easily replaced.1,6

Gastrostomy (G) tubes are placed surgically through the abdomen and into the stomach. They are relatively easy to maintain, which makes them a preferable option for children who require longer-term feeding support.7,8

Orthopaedics

Scoliosis (curvature of the spine) is a common problem found in children with spinal muscular atrophy due to muscle weakness. An orthopaedist may recommend postural support (bracing) or surgery for scoliosis.2,9

Physical therapy

Children with spinal muscular atrophy may be too weak to move their joints throughout their full range of motion. This can put them at risk of developing contractures, or tightness of the muscles, which can become permanent and prevent movement. Physical therapy may consist of exercises to help improve flexibility and overall function. When appropriate, a stander may improve bone strength and can be used at home to help children maintain flexibility at the hips, knees, and ankles.2

Learn more about specialised equipment at home

Care team roles and responsibilities 

The current guidelines of care for individuals with spinal muscular atrophy suggest that care is best accomplished with the help of many specialists and primary care providers. Because every child with spinal muscular atrophy is different, the members, as well as their level of involvement, may change over time according to individual needs and circumstances. As key members of this team, parents are encouraged to work closely with their child’s doctor in determining a care team that works best for them and their family.1

The following is an example of a care team for educational purposes only.
Care team members may vary for individuals with spinal muscular atrophy.

Click on a care team member to learn more about their role

Paediatric neurologist* 

Paediatric neurologists are often the first doctors to meet with parents of children suspected of having spinal muscular atrophy. They specialise in the diagnosis and treatment of disorders of the nervous system (brain, spinal cord, muscles, nerves) and are a vital part of the care team. Neurologists may conduct electromyography or nerve conduction studies to rule out other forms of muscle disease if a child has a negative gene test for spinal muscular atrophy.1,10

Paediatric pulmonologist 

Paediatric pulmonologists monitor a child’s ability to breathe effectively and guide the treatment of breathing problems that may require medicines or specialised equipment to support. They work with families to develop individualised treatment plans that are particularly important when a child is sick with cold or flu, or if surgery is scheduled.10

Dietitian* 

Nutrition is important for individuals with spinal muscular atrophy in order to promote growth and motor function. Children may experience over- or undernourishment, which can affect bone strength, growth, and overall mobility. Experts suggest working with a registered dietitian who is familiar with the nutritional needs of children with spinal muscular atrophy.10,11

Orthopaedist* 

Orthopaedists specialise in the surgical and nonsurgical treatment of conditions of the bones, joints, and soft tissue. Children with spinal muscular atrophy may be at risk of certain orthopaedic issues for which an orthopaedist may recommend postural support (bracing) or surgery to treat.1

Physiotherapist 

Stretching and strength training is an important component of the preventive care approach. Physiotherapists may evaluate your child’s range of motion, muscle strength, and mobility. They can also recommend exercises or assistive devices to help your child maintain the best posture for breathing and eating.10,12

Other care team members may include:

Child psychologist

Child psychologists can provide counselling and guidance on a wide range of psychological and social problems that may arise, including:

  • Emotional and developmental problems
  • Coping with stresses related to school
  • Psychological difficulties for siblings of children with spinal muscular atrophy

Genetic medical counsellor

Genetic counsellors can provide information on the consequences and genetic background of spinal muscular atrophy. They can advise families on the likelihood of developing or transmitting the disease, suggest genetic carrier testing for the parents and other children in the family, and the available options in management and family planning.

Occupational therapist

While a physiotherapist can assist with increasing overall mobility through exercise and assistive devices, an occupational therapist helps individuals increase their independence in specific everyday tasks like dressing, bathing, or handling utensils. They may recommend adaptive equipment or home modifications, such as the installation of ramps or widening of doorways.

Paediatric anaesthetist

Paediatric anaesthesiology is another important aspect in the care of children with spinal muscular atrophy who may have to undergo surgery such as tracheostomy or spinal stabilisation. They handle planning of care before, during, and after surgery, as well as delivering anaesthesia.

Paediatrician

A paediatrician is a medical doctor who has been trained to diagnose and treat a broad range of childhood illnesses, from minor health problems to serious diseases.

NMD nurse

An NMD nurse can be an important first-line caregiver given the risk of respiratory illness and works closely with children and families in hospitals. She can provide you with educational materials and connect you with support groups such as SMA Europe to improve your understanding of the disease.

*Actor portrayal.

REFERENCES

1. Wang CH, Finkel RS, Bertini ES, et al; and Participants of the International Conference on SMA Standard of Care. Consensus statement for standard of care in spinal muscular atrophy. J Child Neurol. 2007;22(8):1027-1049. 2. Spinal Muscular Atrophy Clinical Research Center. Physical/occupational therapy. Available at: http://columbiasma.org/pt-ot.html. Updated March 14, 2013. Accessed April 18, 2016. 3. Bach JR, Gonçalves MR, Hon A, et al. Changing trends in the management of end-stage neuromuscular respiratory muscle failure: recommendations of an international consensus. Am J Phys Med Rehabil. 2013;92(3):267-277. 4. Schroth MK. Special considerations in the respiratory management of spinal muscular atrophy. Pediatrics. 2009;123(suppl 4):S245- S249. 5. Oskoui M, Levy G, Garland CJ, et al. The changing natural history of spinal muscular atrophy type 1. Neurology. 2007;69(20):1931-1936. 6. Shlamovitz GZ et al. Nasogastric Intubation. Medscape. Available at: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/80925-overview. Updated: Jul 26, 2016. Accessed January 9, 2017. 7. Blumenstein I, Shastri YM, Stein J. Gastroenteric tube feeding: techniques, problems and solutions. World J Gastroenterol. 2014;20(26):8505-8524. 8. Cure SMA. Tube Feeding and SMA: Recommendations and Practices. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/support--care-documents/2015-conference-tube-feeding.pdf. Published June 20, 2015. 9. Prior TW, Russman BS. Spinal muscular atrophy. NCBI Bookshelf Website. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1352/. Updated November 14, 2013. Accessed April 15, 2016. 10. Patient Advisory Group of the International Coordinating Committee for SMA Clinical Trials. A family guide to the Consensus Statement for Standard of Care in Spinal Muscular Atrophy. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/research-documents/family-consensus-statement.pdf. Accessed May 2, 2016. 11. Cure SMA. Nutrition Basics – Fostering Health and Growth for Spinal Muscular Atrophy. 2016. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/support--care-documents/nutrition-basics.pdf. Accessed January 9, 2017. 12. Oleszek JL, Caire ML. Kugelberg Welander muscular atrophy treatment & management. Medscape. Available at: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/306812-treatment. Updated April 27, 2016. Accessed April 28, 2016.

Fichiers témoins :

Nous utilisons des fichiers témoins pour améliorer ce site Web et votre expérience. En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez notre utilisation de fichiers témoins . Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements ou si vous ne souhaitez pas que des fichiers témoins soient installés pendant que vous utilisez ce site, vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur en conséquence ou vous pouvez visiter notre page sur la confidentialité en ligne .

Il y a de nombreux aspects à prendre en compte et les décisions que doivent prendre les parents sont difficiles, car chaque enfant ressent différemment les symptômes. Le niveau de soins apporté doit être décidé par les parents et par les médecins de l’enfant, et peut changer selon les circonstances et l’objectif des soins de soutien. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre médecin si vous avez des questions sur les options thérapeutiques appropriées.1

Soins respiratoires

Les soins respiratoires sont une préoccupation fondamentale dans l’amyotrophie spinale. Une faiblesse musculaire dans la poitrine peut entraver la capacité de respirer ou de tousser efficacement et peut augmenter le risque d’infection. Les options thérapeutiques respiratoires peuvent comprendre des techniques effractives et non effractives.2

Les soins respiratoires non effractifs font appel à des techniques qui évitent ou retardent l’utilisation d’une intervention effractive. Des appareils spéciaux tels qu’un respirateur ou un dispositif à pression positive expiratoire à deux niveaux (BiPAP) peuvent fournir un flux continu d’air aux poumons grâce à un masque qui couvre la bouche et/ou le nez. Un appareil de toux assistée peut également être utilisé à domicile pour aider l’enfant à tousser et à évacuer ses sécrétions.1,3

Les soins respiratoires effractifs fournissent une arrivée d’air sûre jusqu’aux poumons par l’intermédiaire d’un tube endotrachéal qui passe par la bouche (intubation) ou va directement dans la trachée au moyen d’une petite incision dans le cou (trachéotomie).4

Nutrition

Chez les enfants atteints d’amyotrophie spinale, la faiblesse musculaire peut entraîner la perte de la capacité à mâcher et déglutir efficacement. Cette perte les expose au risque d’inhaler de la nourriture et du liquide dans leurs poumons et de présenter des infections respiratoires. Les parents peuvent choisir la mise en place d’une sonde gastrique temporaire ou à long terme afin de fournir à leur enfant la nutrition et l’hydratation nécessaires.5

En général, il existe 2 types de sondes gastriques : les sondes nasales et les sondes abdominales.

Les sondes nasogastriques (sondes NG) s’introduisent par le nez et alimentent directement l’estomac. Elles sont le plus souvent utilisées chez les enfants qui ont besoin d’une sonde gastrique pour une courte période seulement, et peuvent facilement être remplacées.1,6

Les sondes de gastrostomie (sondes G) sont mises en place lors d’une intervention chirurgicale à travers l’abdomen et dans l’estomac. Elles sont relativement faciles à entretenir, ce qui en fait une option préférable chez les enfants ayant besoin d’une assistance nutritionnelle à long terme.7,8

Orthopédie

La scoliose (déviation de la colonne vertébrale) est un problème courant chez les enfants atteints d’amyotrophie spinale en raison de la faiblesse musculaire. Un orthopédiste peut recommander un soutien postural (corset) ou une intervention chirurgicale pour la scoliose.2,9

Physiothérapie

Les enfants atteints d’amyotrophie spinale peuvent être trop faibles pour solliciter leurs articulations avec une amplitude complète de mouvements. Cela peut les exposer à un risque de formation de contractures, ou contraction des muscles, qui peuvent devenir permanentes et empêcher les mouvements. La physiothérapie peut comporter des exercices pour aider à améliorer la souplesse et le fonctionnement global. Lorsque c’est approprié, un cadre verticalisateur peut renforcer la solidité des os et être utilisé à domicile pour aider les enfants à conserver une certaine souplesse au niveau des hanches, des genoux et des chevilles.2

Pour en savoir plus sur le matériel spécialisé à domicile

Les rôles et les responsabilités de l’équipe soignante

D’après les lignes directrices cliniques actuelles pour les personnes atteintes d’amyotrophie spinale, l’aide de nombreux spécialistes et prestataires de soins primaires permet de réaliser les meilleurs soins. Comme chaque enfant atteint d’amyotrophie spinale est différent, les membres de l’équipe, de même que leur degré d’intervention, peuvent changer au fil du temps selon les besoins individuels et les circonstances. En tant que membres essentiels de cette équipe, les parents sont encouragés à travailler en étroite collaboration avec le médecin de leur enfant, afin de mettre en place une équipe soignante qui assurera les meilleurs services pour l’enfant et sa famille.1

Voici un exemple d’équipe soignante à des fins didactiques seulement.
Les membres d’une équipe soignante peuvent varier en fonction des individus atteints d’amyotrophie spinale.

Cliquez sur un membre de l’équipe soignante pour en savoir plus sur son rôle

Neuropédiatre* 

Les neuropédiatres sont souvent les premiers médecins qui rencontrent les parents d’enfants chez lesquels on soupçonne une amyotrophie spinale. Ils sont spécialisés dans le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies du système nerveux (cerveau, moelle épinière, muscles, nerfs) et représentent un élément essentiel de l’équipe soignante. Les neurologues peuvent effectuer une électromyographie ou des études de conduction nerveuse pour écarter d’autres formes de maladies musculaires si le résultat du test de dépistage du gène de l’amyotrophie spinale est négatif.1,10

Pédopneumologue 

Les pédopneumologues comme le Dr Schroth surveillent la capacité d’un enfant à respirer efficacement et guident le traitement des problèmes de respiration, qui peut nécessiter le recours à des médicaments ou une assistance au moyen de matériel spécialisé. Ils travaillent avec la famille pour mettre en place des programmes de traitement personnalisés, qui sont particulièrement importants lorsqu’un enfant est atteint d’un rhume ou d’une grippe, ou si une intervention chirurgicale est prévue.10

Diététiste* 

La nutrition est importante chez les personnes atteintes d’amyotrophie spinale puisqu’elle favorise la croissance et la fonction motrice. Les enfants peuvent être sous- ou suralimentés, ce qui peut influer sur la solidité des os, la croissance et la mobilité générale. Les experts conseillent de travailler avec un(e) diététiste agréé(e) qui connaît bien les besoins nutritionnels des enfants atteints d’amyotrophie spinale.10,11

Orthopédiste* 

Les orthopédistes sont spécialisés dans le traitement chirurgical et non chirurgical des affections des os, des articulations et des tissus mous. Les enfants atteints d’amyotrophie spinale risquent de présenter certains problèmes orthopédiques, pour lesquels un orthopédiste peut recommander un soutien postural (corset) ou une intervention chirurgicale.1

Physiothérapeute 

Les étirements et l’entraînement musculaire sont une composante importante de l’approche thérapeutique préventive. Les physiothérapeutes, comme Lisa V., peuvent évaluer l’amplitude de mouvement de votre enfant ainsi que sa force musculaire et sa mobilité. Les physiothérapeutes peuvent aussi recommander des exercices ou des dispositifs d’assistance afin d’aider votre enfant à conserver la meilleure posture pour respirer et manger.10,12

Parmi les autres membres de l’équipe soignante, il peut y avoir :

Pédopsychologue

Les pédopsychologues peuvent fournir des conseils et vous guider sur de nombreux problèmes psychologiques et sociaux qui peuvent survenir, notamment :

  • Problèmes affectifs et de développement
  • Gestion du stress lié à l’école
  • Difficultés psychologiques pour les frères et sœurs des enfants atteints d’amyotrophie spinale

Conseiller médical en génétique

Les conseillers en génétique peuvent fournir des renseignements sur les conséquences et la composante génétique de l’amyotrophie spinale. Ils peuvent conseiller les familles sur la probabilité de présenter ou de transmettre la maladie, suggérer un test de dépistage de porteur pour les parents et les autres enfants de la famille et présenter les options existantes pour la prise en charge et la planification familiale.

Ergothérapeute

Alors que le physiothérapeute peut aider à accroître la mobilité globale grâce à des exercices et à des dispositifs d’assistance, l’ergothérapeute aide les personnes à acquérir de l’indépendance dans des tâches quotidiennes particulières telles que s’habiller, se laver ou manipuler des ustensiles. L’ergothérapeute peut recommander de l’équipement adapté ou des modifications du domicile, telles que l’installation de rampes ou l’élargissement des portes.

Anesthésiste pédiatrique

Un anesthésiste pédiatrique assure un autre aspect important des soins de l’enfant atteint d’amyotrophie spinale qui peut avoir à subir une intervention chirurgicale telle qu’une trachéostomie ou une stabilisation de la colonne vertébrale. L’anesthésiste pédiatrique se charge de la planification des soins avant, pendant et après l’intervention chirurgicale, en plus d’assurer l’anesthésie.

Pédiatre

Un pédiatre est un médecin qui a reçu une formation spécialisée pour diagnostiquer et traiter de nombreuses maladies infantiles, des problèmes de santé mineurs jusqu’aux maladies graves.

Infirmier/Infirmière spécialisé(e) en maladies neuromusculaires

L’infirmier ou l’infirmière spécialisé(e) en maladies neuromusculaires peut jouer un rôle important dans les soins de première ligne étant donné le risque de maladie respiratoire, et travaille en étroite collaboration avec les enfants et les familles à l’hôpital. Il (elle) peut aussi vous fournir du matériel didactique et vous mettre en communication avec des groupes de soutien tels que SMA Europe pour améliorer votre compréhension de la maladie.

*Portrait d’un intervenant.

RÉFÉRENCES

1. Wang CH, Finkel RS, Bertini ES, et al; and Participants of the International Conference on SMA Standard of Care. Consensus statement for standard of care in spinal muscular atrophy. J Child Neurol. 2007;22(8):1027-1049. 2. Spinal Muscular Atrophy Clinical Research Center. Physical/occupational therapy. Available at: http://columbiasma.org/pt-ot.html. Updated March 14, 2013. Accessed April 18, 2016. 3. Bach JR, Gonçalves MR, Hon A, et al. Changing trends in the management of end-stage neuromuscular respiratory muscle failure: recommendations of an international consensus. Am J Phys Med Rehabil. 2013;92(3):267-277. 4. Schroth MK. Special considerations in the respiratory management of spinal muscular atrophy. Pediatrics. 2009;123(suppl 4):S245- S249. 5. Oskoui M, Levy G, Garland CJ, et al. The changing natural history of spinal muscular atrophy type 1. Neurology. 2007;69(20):1931-1936. 6. Shlamovitz GZ et al. Nasogastric Intubation. Medscape. Available at: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/80925-overview. Updated: Jul 26, 2016. Accessed January 9, 2017. 7. Blumenstein I, Shastri YM, Stein J. Gastroenteric tube feeding: techniques, problems and solutions. World J Gastroenterol. 2014;20(26):8505-8524. 8. Cure SMA. Tube Feeding and SMA: Recommendations and Practices. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/support--care-documents/2015-conference-tube-feeding.pdf. Published June 20, 2015. 9. Prior TW, Russman BS. Spinal muscular atrophy. NCBI Bookshelf Website. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1352/. Updated November 14, 2013. Accessed April 15, 2016. 10. Patient Advisory Group of the International Coordinating Committee for SMA Clinical Trials. A family guide to the Consensus Statement for Standard of Care in Spinal Muscular Atrophy. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/research-documents/family-consensus-statement.pdf. Accessed May 2, 2016. 11. Cure SMA. Nutrition Basics – Fostering Health and Growth for Spinal Muscular Atrophy. 2016. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/support--care-documents/nutrition-basics.pdf. Accessed January 9, 2017. 12. Oleszek JL, Caire ML. Kugelberg Welander muscular atrophy treatment & management. Medscape. Available at: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/306812-treatment. Updated April 27, 2016. Accessed April 28, 2016.