Cookies:

This website intends to use cookies to improve the site and your experience. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to accept our use of cookies . If you require further information and/or do not wish to have cookies placed when using the site, you can modify your browser settings appropriately, or you may visit our internet privacy page .

In spinal muscular atrophy, there is a loss of important cells in the spinal cord called motor neurons, which are essential for muscle strength and movement. These motor neurons regulate muscle activity by sending signals from the central nervous system (CNS), which is the part of the body’s nervous system that includes the brain and spinal cord.1,2

The loss of functioning motor neurons leads to progressive muscle weakness and atrophy (the gradual decrease in the mass and strength of muscles), as muscles stop receiving signals from the CNS.3

Unlike many other rare neuromuscular diseases, there is a clear understanding of the specific genetic cause of spinal muscular atrophy.

What causes spinal muscular atrophy?

Spinal muscular atrophy is caused by a mutation in the survival motor neuron 1 (SMN1) gene. This gene is responsible for producing survival motor neuron (SMN) protein, which maintains the health and normal function of motor neurons. In people with spinal muscular atrophy, both copies of the SMN1 gene are mutated, leading to decreased production of SMN protein. Without a proper level of SMN protein, motor neurons in the spinal cord will be lost, preventing the muscles from receiving proper signals from the brain.4,5

The degeneration of motor neurons leads to the gradual decrease
in the mass and strength of muscles (atrophy).

For illustrative purposes only.

What does spinal muscular atrophy mean for a child?

Every child with spinal muscular atrophy is affected differently, and it is important to note that symptoms can vary greatly according to the age of onset and disease severity. Children may experience progressive muscle weakness in the muscles closest to the centre of the body, such as the shoulders, thighs, and pelvis. These muscles enable activities such as crawling, walking, sitting up, and controlling head movement. Breathing and swallowing may also be affected.7

Spinal muscular atrophy does not affect the neurons responsible for cognition, which is the mental process through which we gain knowledge and understanding through thought, experience, and the senses.8.9 According to one study, children and adolescents with spinal muscular atrophy have normal intelligence, with IQs in the standard range. Intelligence, cognitive, and behavioural testing may help to prevent school-age children from being bored, under-challenged, or frustrated.10

What should I know about SMN2?

All individuals with spinal muscular atrophy have at least one “backup gene,” known as SMN2. The SMN2 gene has a similar structure to SMN1, but only a small amount (10%) of the SMN protein it produces is fully functional. This low level of SMN protein is not effective enough to sustain the survival of motor neurons in the CNS.11-13

The number of SMN2 genes may vary, and a higher SMN2 copy number is associated with less-severe symptoms of spinal muscular atrophy.4,13,14 The disease has a wide range of symptoms and it is difficult to predict severity based on the number of SMN2 copies. However, experts recommend that care decisions be made based on the child’s functional ability and not on SMN2 copy number alone.2,15

How is spinal muscular atrophy inherited?

Spinal muscular atrophy is an autosomal recessive disease, which means that for a child to be at risk, he or she must inherit 1 mutated SMN1 gene from each parent. If a child inherits only 1 mutated SMN1 gene, they are considered a “carrier”, but usually do not have symptoms of spinal muscular atrophy.16

If you have a family history of spinal muscular atrophy, your chances of being a carrier are greater than average. In making reproductive decisions, it may be helpful to consult with your physician to learn what mutation(s) are common in your family. Once your family mutation(s) are known, an appropriate test for your situation may be determined:

  • If your family mutation(s) are SMN1 deletions, then copy number testing may be appropriate for you
  • If your family mutation(s) include a more subtle change in the gene, then your physician and the laboratory may decide whether testing can be done to look for that specific change

If you are unable to obtain your family mutation(s) information, you can still have a copy number test performed. Your chance of being a carrier (before you have testing) will be calculated from your family history. If your results are normal, your chance of being a carrier may be lower.

Speak to your doctor for more information.

Many laboratories and hospitals offer carrier screening to determine whether 1 or both parents are carriers of the mutated SMN1 gene. This can provide individuals and families with information about the risk of giving birth to a child with spinal muscular atrophy.17 A genetic medical counsellor is trained to make information about genetic risks, testing, and diagnosis easier for families to understand.

Contact your doctor or genetic counsellor to learn more.

Understand the role of a genetic medical counsellor here

* Adapted from Arkblad et al, 2009; Jedrzejowska et al, 2010; Prior, 2010; Sugarman et al, 2012; Ogino et al, 2004.14,18-22
§ Adapted from Norwood et al, 2009; Jones et al, 2015.6,23

References

1. Lunn MR, Wang CH. Spinal muscular atrophy. Lancet. 2008;371(9630):2120-2133. 2. Wang CH, et al. Consensus statement for standard of care in spinal muscular atrophy. J Child Neurol. 2007;22(8):1027-1049. 3. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. Motor Neuron Disease Fact Sheet. 2012. Available at: https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Motor-Neuron-Diseases-Fact-Sheet. Accessed January 9, 2017. 4. Genetics Home Reference. SMN1 gene. 2012. Available at: https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/gene/SMN1. Accessed January 9, 2017. 5. Genetics Home Reference. SMN2 gene. 2012. Available at: https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/gene/SMN2. Accessed January 9, 2017. 6. Jones et al. Systematic review of incidence and prevalence of spinal muscular atrophy (SMA). European Journal of Paediatric Neurology. 2015;19(supp. 1):S64–S65. 7. Finkel R, et al. 209th ENMC International Workshop: Outcome Measures and Clinical Trial Readiness in Spinal Muscular Atrophy 7-9 November 2014, Heemskerk, The Netherlands. Neuromuscul Disord. 2015;25(7):593-602. 8. Cure SMA. At School. 2016. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/support-care/living-with-SMA/daily-life/at-school/. Accessed January 9, 2017. 9. National Organization for Rare Disorders. Werdnig-Hoffman Disease. 2012. Available at: https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/werdnig-hoffmann-disease/. Accessed January 9, 2017. 10. Iannaccone ST. Modern management of spinal muscular atrophy. J Child Neurol. 2007;22(8):974-978. 11. Cure SMA. Cure SMA Medical Provider Information Kit. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/support--care-documents/2016-sma-awareness-mpak.pdf. Accessed January 9, 2017. 12. Cherry JJ, et al. Identification of novel compounds that increase SMN protein levels using an improved SMN2 reporter cell assay. J Biomol Screen. 2012;17(4):481-495. 13. Darras BT, Royden Jones H Jr, Ryan MM, De Vivo DC, eds. Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence: A Clinician’s Approach. 2nd Ed. London, UK: Elsevier; 2015. 14. Prior TW. Perspectives and diagnostic considerations in spinal muscular atrophy. Genet Med. 2010;12(3):145-152. 15. TREAT-NMD. Diagnostic testing and care of new SMA patients. Available at: http://www.treat-nmd.eu/downloads/file/standardsofcare/sma/english/sma_soc_en.pdf. Accessed January 9, 2017. 16. National Organization for Rare Disorders. Spinal Muscular Atrophy. 2012. Available at: https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/#causes. Accessed January 9, 2017. 17. Quest Diagnostics. SMA Carrier Screen. 2013. Available at: http://www.questdiagnostics.com/testcenter/testguide.action%3Fdc%3DTS_SMA. Accessed January 9, 2017. 18. Arkblad E, et al. A population-based study of genotypic and phenotypic variability in children with spinal muscular atrophy. Acta Paediatr. 2009;98(5):865-872. 19. Jedrzejowska M, et al. Incidence of spinal muscular atrophy in Poland--more frequent than predicted? 2010;34(3):152-157. 20. Prior TW. Spinal muscular atrophy: a time for screening. Curr Opin Pediatr. 2010;22(6):696-702. 21. Sugarman EA, et al. Pan-ethnic carrier screening and prenatal diagnosis for spinal muscular atrophy: clinical laboratory analysis of >72,400 specimens. Eur J Hum Genet. 2012 Jan;20(1):27-32. 22. Ogino S, Wilson RB. Spinal muscular atrophy: molecular genetics and diagnostics. Expert Rev Mol Diagn. 2004 Jan;4(1):15-29. 23. Norwood et al, Prevalence of genetic muscle disease in Northern England. Brain. 2009;132(Pt 11):3175-86.

Fichiers témoins :

Nous utilisons des fichiers témoins pour améliorer ce site Web et votre expérience. En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez notre utilisation de fichiers témoins . Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements ou si vous ne souhaitez pas que des fichiers témoins soient installés pendant que vous utilisez ce site, vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur en conséquence ou vous pouvez visiter notre page sur la confidentialité en ligne .

Dans l’amyotrophie spinale, il y a une perte de cellules importantes dans la moelle épinière appelées motoneurones, qui sont essentielles au contrôle des mouvements et de la force musculaires. Ces motoneurones régulent l’activité musculaire en envoyant des signaux émis par le système nerveux central (SNC), la partie du système nerveux du corps qui comprend le cerveau et la moelle épinière.1,2

La perte de motoneurones fonctionnels conduit à une faiblesse et à une atrophie musculaires progressives (une diminution progressive de la masse et de la force musculaires) au fur et à mesure que les signaux émis par le SNC cessent de parvenir aux muscles.3

Contrairement à de nombreuses autres maladies neuromusculaires rares, la cause génétique précise de l’amyotrophie spinale est bien comprise.

Quelle est la cause de l’amyotrophie spinale?

L’amyotrophie spinale est due à une mutation dans le gène de survie du motoneurone 1 (gène SMN1). Ce gène est responsable de la synthèse de la protéine de survie du motoneurone (protéine SMN), qui maintient l’intégrité et le fonctionnement normal des motoneurones. Chez les personnes atteintes d’amyotrophie spinale, les deux copies du gène SMN1 sont mutantes, ce qui entraîne une production réduite de la protéine SMN. Si la concentration de la protéine SMN est insuffisante, les motoneurones dans la moelle épinière seront perdus, ce qui empêchera les muscles de recevoir les signaux corrects du cerveau.4,5

La dégénérescence des motoneurones conduit à une diminution progressive de la masse et de la force des muscles (atrophie).

À titre d’illustration seulement.

Que signifie l’amyotrophie spinale pour un enfant?

Chaque enfant atteint d’amyotrophie spinale est affecté différemment et il est important de noter que les symptômes peuvent varier fortement selon l’âge d’apparition de la maladie et sa gravité. Les enfants peuvent présenter une faiblesse progressive dans les muscles les plus proches de l’axe de leur corps, tels que les muscles des épaules, des cuisses et du bassin. Ces muscles permettent des activités telles que la reptation (ramper), la marche, le maintien de la position assise et le contrôle des mouvements de la tête. La respiration et la déglutition peuvent également être atteintes.7

L’amyotrophie spinale ne touche pas les neurones responsables de la cognition, qui est le processus mental grâce auquel nous acquérons les connaissances et la compréhension par la pensée, l’expérience et les sens.8.9 Selon une étude, les enfants et les adolescents atteints d’amyotrophie spinale ont une intelligence normale, avec un QI dans la plage standard. Dans le cas des enfants d’âge scolaire, des aménagements particuliers peuvent être nécessaires pour leur permettre de conserver leur mobilisation cognitive et intellectuelle.10

Que devrais-je savoir sur le gène SMN2?

Tous les individus atteints d’amyotrophie spinale possèdent au moins une « copie de sauvegarde du gène » appelée SMN2. Le gène SMN2 possède une structure similaire à celle du gène SMN1, mais seule une petite quantité (10 %) de la protéine SMN qu’il produit est pleinement fonctionnelle. Cette faible quantité de protéine SMN n’est pas suffisante pour permettre la survie des motoneurones dans le SNC.11-13

Le nombre de gènes SMN2 peut varier et un nombre plus élevé de copies du gène SMN2 est associé à des symptômes moins graves d’amyotrophie spinale.4,13,14 Néanmoins, la maladie présente une vaste gamme de symptômes et il est difficile d’en prédire la gravité en fonction du nombre de copies du gène SMN2 seulement. C’est pourquoi les experts recommandent que les décisions médicales soient fondées sur les capacités fonctionnelles de l’enfant plutôt que sur le nombre de copies du gène SMN2 seulement.2,15

Comment l’amyotrophie spinale est-elle transmise?

L’amyotrophie spinale est une maladie autosomique récessive, ce qui signifie que pour qu’un enfant soit considéré à risque, il doit recevoir un gène SMN1 mutant de chacun de ses parents. Si un enfant reçoit seulement un gène SMN1 mutant, il est considéré comme « porteur » mais ne présente généralement pas les symptômes de l’amyotrophie spinale.16

S’il y a des antécédents d’amyotrophie spinale dans votre famille, la probabilité que vous soyez porteur (porteuse) est plus élevée que la moyenne. Lorsque vous prendrez la décision d’avoir un enfant, il pourrait être utile de consulter votre médecin afin de connaître la ou les mutations courantes dans votre famille. Une fois connues la ou les mutations présentes dans votre famille, un test approprié pour votre situation pourrait être réalisé.

  • Si la ou les mutations présentes dans votre famille sont des délétions du gène SMN1, un test du nombre de copies de ce gène pourrait être approprié dans votre cas.
  • Si la ou les mutations présentes dans votre famille comprennent un changement moins important dans le gène, votre médecin et le laboratoire pourraient décider si un test doit être effectué pour rechercher ce changement spécifique.

S’il ne vous est pas possible d’obtenir les renseignements sur la ou les mutations familiales, vous pouvez malgré tout faire effectuer un test permettant d’établir le nombre de copies. La probabilité que vous soyez porteur (porteuse) (avant le test) sera calculée selon vos antécédents familiaux. Si vos résultats sont normaux, la probabilité que vous soyez porteur (porteuse) peut être moins élevée.

Nous vous recommandons de vous rapprocher de votre médecin pour de plus amples informations.

De nombreux laboratoires et hôpitaux proposent un dépistage des porteurs pour déterminer si l’un des parents ou les deux sont porteurs du gène SMN1 mutant. Ce dépistage peut fournir aux individus et aux familles des renseignements sur le risque de donner naissance à un enfant atteint d’amyotrophie spinale.17 Un conseiller médical en génétique a la formation nécessaire pour aider les familles à comprendre l’information au sujet des risques et tests génétiques, et du diagnostic.

Pour en savoir plus, merci de contacter votre médecin ou le conseiller génétique.

Se renseigner sur le rôle d’un conseiller médical en génétique ici

* D’après Arkblad et al, 2009 ; Jedrzejowska et al, 2010 ; Prior, 2010 ; Sugarman et al, 2012 ; Ogino et al, 2004.14,18-22
§ D’après Norwood et al, 2009 ; Jones et al, 2015.6,23

RÉFÉRENCES

1. Lunn MR, Wang CH. Spinal muscular atrophy. Lancet. 2008;371(9630):2120-2133. 2. Wang CH, et al. Consensus statement for standard of care in spinal muscular atrophy. J Child Neurol. 2007;22(8):1027-1049. 3. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. Motor Neuron Disease Fact Sheet. 2012. Available at: https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Motor-Neuron-Diseases-Fact-Sheet. Accessed January 9, 2017. 4. Genetics Home Reference. SMN1 gene. 2012. Available at: https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/gene/SMN1. Accessed January 9, 2017. 5. Genetics Home Reference. SMN2 gene. 2012. Available at: https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/gene/SMN2. Accessed January 9, 2017. 6. Jones et al. Systematic review of incidence and prevalence of spinal muscular atrophy (SMA). European Journal of Paediatric Neurology. 2015;19(supp. 1):S64–S65. 7. Finkel R, et al. 209th ENMC International Workshop: Outcome Measures and Clinical Trial Readiness in Spinal Muscular Atrophy 7-9 November 2014, Heemskerk, The Netherlands. Neuromuscul Disord. 2015;25(7):593-602. 8. Cure SMA. At School. 2016. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/support-care/living-with-SMA/daily-life/at-school/. Accessed January 9, 2017. 9. National Organization for Rare Disorders. Werdnig-Hoffman Disease. 2012. Available at: https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/werdnig-hoffmann-disease/. Accessed January 9, 2017. 10. Iannaccone ST. Modern management of spinal muscular atrophy. J Child Neurol. 2007;22(8):974-978. 11. Cure SMA. Cure SMA Medical Provider Information Kit. Available at: http://www.curesma.org/documents/support--care-documents/2016-sma-awareness-mpak.pdf. Accessed January 9, 2017. 12. Cherry JJ, et al. Identification of novel compounds that increase SMN protein levels using an improved SMN2 reporter cell assay. J Biomol Screen. 2012;17(4):481-495. 13. Darras BT, Royden Jones H Jr, Ryan MM, De Vivo DC, eds. Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence: A Clinician’s Approach. 2nd Ed. London, UK: Elsevier; 2015. 14. Prior TW. Perspectives and diagnostic considerations in spinal muscular atrophy. Genet Med. 2010;12(3):145-152. 15. TREAT-NMD. Diagnostic testing and care of new SMA patients. Available at: http://www.treat-nmd.eu/downloads/file/standardsofcare/sma/english/sma_soc_en.pdf. Accessed January 9, 2017. 16. National Organization for Rare Disorders. Spinal Muscular Atrophy. 2012. Available at: https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/#causes. Accessed January 9, 2017. 17. Quest Diagnostics. SMA Carrier Screen. 2013. Available at: http://www.questdiagnostics.com/testcenter/testguide.action%3Fdc%3DTS_SMA. Accessed January 9, 2017. 18. Arkblad E, et al. A population-based study of genotypic and phenotypic variability in children with spinal muscular atrophy. Acta Paediatr. 2009;98(5):865-872. 19. Jedrzejowska M, et al. Incidence of spinal muscular atrophy in Poland--more frequent than predicted? 2010;34(3):152-157. 20. Prior TW. Spinal muscular atrophy: a time for screening. Curr Opin Pediatr. 2010;22(6):696-702. 21. Sugarman EA, et al. Pan-ethnic carrier screening and prenatal diagnosis for spinal muscular atrophy: clinical laboratory analysis of >72,400 specimens. Eur J Hum Genet. 2012 Jan;20(1):27-32. 22. Ogino S, Wilson RB. Spinal muscular atrophy: molecular genetics and diagnostics. Expert Rev Mol Diagn. 2004 Jan;4(1):15-29. 23. Norwood et al, Prevalence of genetic muscle disease in Northern England. Brain. 2009;132(Pt 11):3175-86.